Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The author of this statement claims that in any field – business, politics, education, government, those in power should step down after five years. And reason for this claim is it will be surest path of success. But I disagree to this claims to some extent.

Person who is in power of any institutions is the one who is leading the institutions towards its progress and prosperity. They have faced success and failure during the duration of their realm and these experience is much important while taking any decision regarding development of an institutions. So, if the power are step down after five years these experience person would be lost. This would directly or indirectly harm the development of any institution.

It is not sure the new person in power would be as cooperative and encouraging development as the pervious power head. This will indirectly harms the co-worker and people working under the new power. Consequently, this will leads to less effective works and development will be lack. For instance, in an office the manager was very friendly and cooperative with his co-worker but he was replaced with new manager who is laconic and dogmatic. In this environment co-worker are demotivated to work and weekly performance of workers seemed to decrease by significant amount. So, rather than revitalizing the success it leads to degrading in such cases.

But, we cannot ignore if, single power is stable for long period of time it would turn to monarchy, or autocratic. If person in power is gullible and corruptive its better to replace them within a short period of time. So, organizations should be cautious about the activity of the head who is in power. If any misnomers or and deceptive activity is observed then they should step down those person in power no matter what is his ruling period. However, if, the head is actively involving in progressive works and showing keen interest for development then they should not be step down by constricting time.

At last, the claim seems to be controversial at first but if we got on depth and analyze we can conclude that its better not to step down the power after five years. But flexible policies should be maintain such that power can be step down if any misleads or misnomers activity is encounter.