"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

At first, I am intrigued by the plausibly impressive statement given by the business manager of the television station which states that, "Allocating more time to national news and less time to local and weather news has led to cancellation of advertisers contracts and he believes that restoring the former time for weather and local news would fix the issue". However, on close scrutiny, one may find that the author not only fails to address certain key issues but also misses out certain key aspects of the logic and information which makes the argument incoherent, impalatable and unimpressive as illustrated below.

The author has ruled out any other possibilities for cancellation of contracts. It could be possible that the advertisers withdrew their contracts because of a quarrel. In addition to that, it might also be possible that the advertisers have found a way to make more money by showing their advertisements in a different television station. Moreover, it could also be possible that the people are watching a different channel at the same time, which could be a factor for losing advertising revenue. Therefore, the author needs to provide conclusive evidence to support his argument.

The author has assumed that changing the time to default for weather and local news would help the station restore its advertising revenue. There is good chance that doing so would do nothing since the people have already switched to a different channel for watching the weather and local news. As a result, the television station would suffer. Furthermore, people have changed their habits and they are playing a sport instead of watching television.

I would reserve my endorsement of the given argument until the author incorporates the major topics mentioned in a fore said analysis. This inclusion would make the argument more convincing and logical. Moreover, the author should provide cogent evidence to support his arguments.