A recent survey of 250 adults between 30-45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online e

The argument rests on the hypothesis that spending more time online is linked to depression. As a result, the author has concluded that to improve well-being a person should spend less time online.The author has only mentioned the term "online" and has not specifically mentioned a activity like online chatting, or doing some other work online. The argument is rife with fallacies and it is unsupported by adequate evidence.

First, There is nothing mentioned about the type of survey the author had conducted. Whether the survey was filled by the people or the data was collected by the Internet service providers?. It could be possible that people who filled the form for survey had filled incorrect details about the number of hours they spend online. Therefore, this questions the results of the survey.

Second, The author has presumed that spending more time online causes depression. She has failed to consider other factors which could have caused depression. People could have depression because of some family issues or financial problem. It is also possible that people who spend less time on internet also have depression.

Finally, The author uses the word "online" and fails to mention anything about the type of online activity which causes depression. What if the person who spend more than 30 hours a week online is a gamer like me and plays video games online. It could be possible that the person is learning a programming language or something else or the person could be having a chat with friends.

In a nutshell, it can said on the basis of the above-mentioned lack of evidence and answers need to be provided by the author. Therefore, the argument lacks cogency and it not tenable.