"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

Authors suggestion of restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its pervious level to increase revenues is based on fallacious and unwarranted assumptions. Lots of evidences are needed to justify author's suggestion.

For example, There is no evidence that previously when late-night news program has more time to weather and local news the revenues were good. It is possible that the revenue was not very good at that time too. So restoring the previous state might not increase profit unless know the exact revenue when program has more time to weather and local news.

Likewise, author states viewers concern about weather and local news to imply that people want to watch weather and local news more but there is very little evidence of it. Author does not state how many people have complained. May be very few people have complained about it who are fishermen and weather news is important for fishermen. Also author does not disclose the exact content of complaints. It is possilbe that the complaints were againts weather and local news. So unless exact evidence given about who complained, how many people complained or what is complained about we can not jump to any conclusion.

Last, there is no clear evidence why local businesses cancel advertising contracts. May be they are not interested to advertise in TV program anymore. Suppose there is a huge sports festival is going on and the local businesses are more interested to spend advertising money to sports to become more popular. In that case resoring the time to previous state for weather and local news will not change the situation. so unless getting clear evidence why local businesses canceled their contract, author can not conclude that restoring time to previous state will increase revenues.

In conclusion, Lots of evidences are needed to justify wheather restoring devoted time to weather and local news will increase revenues or not. Without these evidence statement can not be justified.