"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The author claims that the television station sould restore the time devoted for local news and weather to its formal level in order to attract more customers and prevent from losing any advertising contracts. The author provides few shreds of evidence which might look convincing at a first glance. However, few loopholes are present in the argument and are stated below.

First of all, the author claims that more complaints are received from the viewers who are concerned with the stations coverage of weather and local news. It might be possible that people would have problem with the quality of the coverage and not with the amount of time the weather and local news are being telecasted. The author must provide clear evidence about this case.

Secondly, the author claims that the local buisness that used to advertise in the program have canceled their contract. What if the buisness have moved to different place or it might have developed their own website to market their business?. Thus, the author should provide an evidence regarding the cancellation of the contract was due to less time that was appropriated for local news and weather.

Finally, the author claims that most of the complaints recieved was from last year. There are chances that more number of television station would have started in the same area. Also, people who complained about the coverage of local news over the period of last year would have moved to different places and the new people who have come to the area would be satisfied with the present amount of time dedicated to the local news and weather. As a result, the author must provide stronger evidences to prove this claim.

To sum up, the author must provide the above stated evidences in order to aver the argument as credible.