"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The manager has concluded that, they have to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level as they are receiving complaints, loosing viewers and there were cancellations of local business advertisements. This argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing wek evidences. However, careful scrutiny of the memorandum reveals that there is little credible support for the manager's conclusion. Hence, this argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the manager assumes that the reduction in the number of viewers is due to the fact that there is an increase in the number of complaints from the viewers that, they were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. The manager has no idea whether the late-night news is being watched by the local or the national people. The display of the weather and the local news can be done by scrollings and they specifically need not stop the reporter from reading the national news. Also, it is only mentioned that most of the complaints are received from the people regarding local news and weather news telecast. There might be six out of ten complaints but the manager is more concerned about these six rather than the other four.

Secondly, there is no evidence that, the number of people who actually stopped watching is just because there is no local news telecasted. There is a possibility that any other news channel is telecasting more intresting news at the same time or the quality of news telecasted in this channel itself has declined or there is a need to change the reporter as people are not properly understanding the accent of the reporter. If evidences to these questions have been provided, then it would have been more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the manager notes that, by telecasting local news they will be able to restore the lost advertising revenues and the viewers to the program. This argument lacks credible support as there is no possibility that the investers might actually invest back in this channel and they will gain back their lost viewers.

In conclusion, the manager's argument is as unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further the manager should have provided more detailed evidences and deep analysis. Hence, to better evaluate the argument there is a necessity of more evidences in the memorandum.