"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The author represent the case of a television station. The business manage states that the decrease in the time devoted to weather and local news is having an adverse effect to the channel. Therefore, the channel should revert back to former timing. However the argument is not tenable as it lack fact and evidence. Furthermore, many assumptions have considered by the manager to project the decision.

The first problem with argument is that the author's vague terminology. The manager mentions that the program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Author has not mentioned the exact time difference-2 hours or 10 min. Therefore, the effects of the decrease timing can be considered. Next the author states that most of the complaints received from viewers were concered with station's weather and local news.The author statement is ambigious as it is not having any exact fact or figure. May be only 10 complaints were reported and 3 of them were for weather and local news.

The argument is flawed by the author's assumptions. Author assumes that the complaints reported for station's weather and local news were owing to time allocation- there can be numerous reasons for the complaints. The complaints can be for the reporter of the program or because of the content of the show. The complaint can be because of the poor representation of minister of the city or the city. In addition to this assumption, the author goes on to assumes that the cancellation of adverstising contracts of the local businesses is because of the cut off in timing of weather and local news. There is a possibility that the relationship between the business and channel have degraded or the popularity of other channel have shifted the investement of businessman to a more popular channel.

The author conculed the argument by stating the increae i time devoted to weather and local news can compensated the loss of advertising revenue and attract viewers to the program. However the conculsion is based on fallacious logic. The relation between revenue, viewers and the time allocate to local news is not directly propotional.All faulty assumptions has lead to baseless conclusion. To bolster the argument the manager should have stated facts and figures to provide the relation between the complaints to time allocation and also decrease in viewers and revenue loss.

To recapulitate the author's argument is based on vague terminology, erroronous assumption. Furthermore, there is no specific fact or statistic to corroborate the claim. Hence the author's conculsion that former level of time devotion to weather and local news will enhnace the revenue and viewers of the program is incrediable