Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The argument lacks support in its various claims. More evidence should be found to make the argument more cogent.

First, the manager needs more evidence on how much the TV station increased its time to national news and decreased that of weather and local news, and statistical values are preferred. If the change is not significant, assuming that the malicious fallout of such change are true, then it behooves the TV station to study the past records; in particular, they should find out whether the complaints and withdrawal of advertisers were already taking place before the change so that they can understand the situation better. Essentially, studying past trends will militate over how much time allocated to national news should increase. If the stated change was not significant, then restoring the previous coverage amount would hardly ameliorate the situation.

Besides, claims on complaints from the viewers need to be substantiated with the number of complainers and their actual content. If there is only a modicum amount of complaints expressing dissents, then probably the situation is not as severe. If people complain about the opposite, or there was too much coverage for national news, then the proposed strategy will indubitably fail. Besides, the advertisers' reasons for canceling the contracts need to be explained. Perhaps they canceled the contract because of the low quality, instead of the content of the news. If this is the case, then changing the type of news without improving other aspects would hardly be efficacious. It is only after the evidence on the fact that most advertisers withdrew precisely because of the coverage of news will the manager's claim be strengthened.

Additionally, the manager needs evidence to support his claim that more viewers will be attracted to the increased local news. A diverse range of factors needs to be considered. Perhaps during that period, there was sensational local news that viewers were interested in. However, such interest will not last as these affairs could be ephemeral; therefore, changing the news type may not help in the long run. Furthermore, given the cornucopia types of entertainment readily available nowadays, perhaps the residents were not interested in watching televisions anymore. Therefore, the number of viewers and thus the revenue may not increase because of the obsolete nature of TV news of either local or national types.

Overall, it is only after the manager investigated this matter in a cautious way, researching extensively to find supporting evidence, will his claim be persuasive.