Governments should provide funding for artists so that the arts can flourish and be available to all people.

While arts indeed have their benefits, when compared to other more practical fields like science, the value of arts are rather dwarfed in this world fraught with pragmatic concerns. I do not believe that it behooves the governments to support the development of arts monetarily because such support may pay little dividend in actually developing the arts, and the governments should prioritize their more pressing concerns.

Above all else, we have to accede to the fact that arts possess their benefits, and it is indubitably a fallacy to dismiss arts as an amalgamation of everything whimsical, impractical and haphazard. practically, arts can bring to fore a wealth of practical benefits; great literature works that depict the lives of the impecunious or hapless can spur people to extend a helping hand to the less fortunate, inculcating in them moral values; stunning music can imbue us with euphoria; painting cannot just captivate human minds, it has also been scientifically proven to have therapeutic effects on those emotionally impaired individuals. when given monetary support, more people may pursue a career in arts and be goaded to produce works of high quality. therefore, it will be helpful if the governments are willing to develop arts.

On the flip side, arts may not flourish just because of monetary support. More often than not, the top-down monetary support, after weak implementation plan and other botched handling of financial matters, usually becomes watered-down, hardly efficacious in the end. furthermore, arts may not rely on money to flourish; those with an ardent passion in their profession as artists may not improve their quality of work just because of the monetary gain, and some people without a genuine interest may fall prey to the lure of money, producing works simply for the sake of monetary interests. it is commonsense that great works of arts usually require people to have a peaceful mind devoid of worldly concerns.

Furthermore, governments should focus on dealing with issues that are more practical in cases of economic doldrums or underdevelopment of economy. In countries like Somali, where children are still abducted as child soldiers and desensitized into atrocious killers, it is palpable that they should focus on weeding out the social upheaval and poverty. In other poor places like the underdeveloped regions of China, governments should focus on empowering people to climb out their quicksand of poverty characterized by the most dilapidated living environment and a dearth of educational resources. therefore, under these situations, it will then be preposterous for the government to heedlessly spend money on the development of arts, blinking those more pressing concerns.

On the whole, arts can be useful. However, in view of a limited budget, governments should tread on the side of caution and restriction in husbanding its resources and allocating the monetary support to the suitable fields.