Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Be it the rather more broad-based and liberal education system in the west or the rather content-based and rigorous education system in east, education aims to impart to students useful knowledge and skills that mold them into better individuals. Albeit there are lots of room for improvement, formal education is necessary to grant humans true freedom empowered by knowledge, power and self-disciplinary spirit.

Above all else, we must accede to the fact that classrooms of students can become mindless conformists when they learn in a dry way, relying on repetitive memorization and mechanical regurgitation of content without internalizing what they learnt. In the novel, Hard Time, Charles Dickens pokes fun at such education systems in his monstrous creation of the school master, who viewed the students as "pitchers" to be filled "full of facts". The hapless students were not just required to "consume" those facts with relish, but also to replicate everything in the textbooks during exams. Excruciating as learning becomes, students in the school failed to develop their potential. Dubbed as "rote-learning", certain formal education systems indeed restrained students' mind, as they advocate acquisition of knowledge through the mindless way as opposed to real understanding and appreciation of knowledge. Such an educational method can be inherently hazardous and does not pay dividends in nurturing healthy talents with a high caliber, only producing depressed souls with grudges against schools.

On the flip side, formal education needs to be restrictive to imbue students with self-disciplinary spirit and scrupulousness when it comes to the academic. All of us, by human nature, can be indolent. Indubitably, all of us can become jaded when doing homework, ennui when listening to lectures, and basically disgruntled when inundated with the barrage of abstruse knowledge. Without formal education system that forces us to persevere, how many of us will give up on the road to harnessing the power of knowledge? Even if a modicum amount of us really harbor an unwavering wish to invent something great due to genuine interest in science, how many of us will fail to build a solid foundation for mathematics unless we are taught in a systematic way? While some Asian education systems has long been criticized for being content-heavy, students from regions like Singapore and Hong Kong scored the highest PISA score in the world. A truism goes: "No pain, no gain"; without us stepping out from our comfort zones and learn in the standard education system in a strenuous way, we can hardly build the solid foundation of knowledge and become able to control ourselves.

On the whole, formal education may be restrictive in developing individuals, especially when the education system takes an oppressive form and strangles students' creativity. However, more often than not, we need a formal education system that restrains us, so that we will not go astray and learn to stay focused on what we are supposed to do.