Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Indubitably, different individuals inherently possess a cornucopia types of talents; it is palpable that those who are endowed with talents of a particular field have a preponderance over others in arenas fraught with sharp competitions. Against this backdrop, educational institutions should shoulder the responsibility to help students identify and develop their potential. However, such fact is not tantamount to according these institutions rights to usurp students’ personal pursuits. After all, success can be an elusive concept that takes an amorphous form when scrutinized. Students may simply pursue their interest despite their lack of talents. Moreover, they may eventually succeed through dogged determination, instead of their inherent caliber.

Above all else, we must accede to the fact that students should, ideally, develop their potential fully to become useful members of societies, and they are more likely to succeed with their natural talents and potential fully unleashed. For instance, contrary to many people’s notion that Einstein did not do well in mathematics, Einstein’s results in math exams were actually outstanding. As becoming a scientist usually entails one’s logical-reasoning capacity, it will be hard for an inherently daft person to become a scientist and understand numbers and equations of intricate and esoteric nature. Therefore, in this case, if the student is both interested and talented in other areas, it will be unimpeachable for the school to advice the student to pursue his interest and try to succeed in other fields.

However, on the flip side, it will be rather difficult to define success in an unequivocal way. Success, of diaphanous nature, can neither be defined as “earn a lot of money”, nor “notch numerous achievements”. In fact, different people can have a plethora of ways to understand success, and more often than not, when students simply pursue what they like without any monetary agenda, but with pure passion, it will be too facile to simply dismiss the student as a failure. Henry Isban once penned: “Money is the husk of many things, not the kernel. .., It brings food, but not appetite, … material, but not days of euphoria and happiness. ” Therefore, schools should not dictate the students on what to do, for happiness and interest may be of larger consequence.

Last but not least, more often than not, people achieve the great not because they are inherently gifted, but because of their unwavering faith in achieving their goals. In fact, determination and tenacity would be more imperative to a person, instead of their talents. Who would ever think that Helen Keller would go to Harvard and publish her own book, becoming a source of inspiration, as a person with severe physical impairment? Therefore, some people may not be talented, and can even be handicapped in their ability, but all these do not preclude them from becoming the success.

On the whole, we rarely find inspiration in those infallible and ingenuous. Rather, most of us are commoners with our inherent flaws, most of our talents naturally unexceptional. However, it is always up to us to define what success is, and live the way we want our life to be. In this vein, schools should not temper with what students choose in many cases.