Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While lowering the incidence of disease in our population is certainly a positve thing, we must be careful in assuming cause and effect. Arguing that ancient hominids had extensive knowledge of human physiology, and that re-creating their diets will surely cure us of modern disease poses several issues.

To state that our ancestors knew more about our physiology than we do today is quite bold and presents a flawed argument. This claim is based off of the fact that comsuming bone broth yields beneficial results, but it assumes that the hominids followed this diet purely for it's health benefits. There is no evidence to suggest that they drank this broth for any reason besides convenience or neccessity. In the paleolithic era our ancestors had not even invented agriculture - let alone modern medical techniques. It is much more logical to assume that they drank this broth as a result of their hunter-gather lifestyle, not letting any part of their hunt go to waste. The health benefits of this broth were certainly a postive side effect, perhaps one that allowed our ancestors to further thrive and evolve into modern humans. The claim that hominids knew something we did not about our own physiology might hold true if there were some evidence suggesting they drank the broth by choice, not by neccessity, perhaps in the form of a cave drawing or something of the sort. Until then however, it is illogical to state such a claim based off of unrequited assumptions.

Secondly, the author of this argument states that if we emulate the hominid's diet we can cure many chronic illnesses. This claim is unjustified as it relies heavily on assumed cause and effect - from the evidence provided in the passage, there is no way to prove that bone broth is curing these illnesses. Arguing that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic disease than those who do not opens up a whole host of issues; those who consume this broth are much more likely to be health-concious in general, they are wealthier, they have a higher socioeconimic status allowing them more access to health care, and so on. Perhaps if the author had cited studies that yielded results supporting the specific health benefits of bone broth, then cause and effect could be conferred, however until such a study is conducted this argument relies far too heavily on unjustified assumptions.

The author of this paragraph has the beginnings of a potentially sound argument, however to make such strong claims based on assumptions without evidence leaves the reader unconvinced.