Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

In a world where advancing technology seems to becoming more and more auspicious, it might be conceivable to view it as the endpoint to all of society's problems. While science and technology certainly play an important role in solving many difficulties we as a population face, they can never completely solve all of our problems because these problems stem from interpersonal conflicts and emotions rather than quantifiable discrepancies in our lives.

Consider the most prominent issues in our society today - are they related to specific technology-based inconveniences? Or are they rooted deeper in cultural and emotional ways such that science could never begin to truly study and solve them? I would argue the latter. At the end of the day it does not matter if we have the shiniest, newest technologies whizzing about, performing our quotidian tasks for us. If we cannot address issues such as racism, misogyny, and classism, then we as a society will always have problems to face.

Additionally, we are reaching a plateau for new scientific discoveries and technologies. We have had access to a vast bounty of knowledge for such a long time, yet we are nowhere near solving all of the problems in the world. If we have come so far in terms of technology, yet still have such a long way to go as far as societal issues then we can deduce that the two are likely unconnected.

Of course this is not to say that science is utterly useless; we have managed to overcome many trifling issues with the discovery of new technologies. The problem in stating that all of society's problems will be solved with science and technology stems from the fact that everytime a problem is solved, another arises in it's place. Consider the invention of vaccinations as an example. Their invention undoubtedly saved millions of lives, however now there is a movement against them, creating a societal divide - a whole other debate riddled with new problems of it's own.

There will always be problems in society, and quite often the root of the problem will not be a quick fix solveable by technology or science. The two work together to resolve issues, helping us immensely, but to state that they will eventually solve every problem possibly faced would be naiive.