The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the town of Centerville, sidewalk rage certainly appears to cause a problem to the well-being of it's citizens, however suggesting that a cell phone ban would completely solve this problem is overly optimistic. There are many factors behind these types of emotional outbursts, and to posit that the use of cell phones on sidewalks is the sole root would be based on a seriously flawed argument. There is a copious amount of evidence required before such an argument could possibly be considered valid.

To begin, this stance assumes that cell phone use on sidewalks is the major cause of sidewalk rage. We have no way of telling whether this is true or not - we need evidence to disprove all other possibilities. Perhaps the people of Centerville become enraged as a result of poor sidewalk conditions, or the current economical situation in their town. Before suggesting that banning cell phones would clear all cases of sidewalk rage, we must be sure that the cell phone usage is actually causing this phenomeon.

Even if we had some clear cut way of knowing that the use of cell phones on sidewalks was causing this rage, we would need to know the proportion of persons actually doing so. In the case of a few obnoxious users, it would be more efficiant to simply ban these few offenders than to instate a city-wide ban. The argument assumes that many people use their cell phones while walking on the sidewalks, an assumption that needs to be refuted by evidence before such a ban could fairly proceed.

Finally, this argument is based heavily in the idea that since the cell phone ban worked in Middletown, it will also work in Centerville. This argument is flawed as it assumes a gross similarity between the two towns, and fails to provide evidence proving this to be true. We have no way to tell whether these two towns bear any ressemblance to one another; population sizes, demographics of these populations, physical attributes of the cityscapes, and town geography of each all play a role in determining whether a cell phone ban would actually work in the respective towns. For example, the population of Middletown might be exponentially smaller than that of Centerville, making enforcing the ban much more effective. Or perhaps there was far less sidewalk crime to begin with in Middletown. Until sufficiant evidence is provided that the two towns are similar on many terms, the argument falls flat.

While the author's argument serves as the beginning of a solid idea, ultimately it is based on little more than shakey assumptions. Evidence supporting these assumptions, proving them to be true, would be necessary before considering establishing a sidewalk cell phone ban in Centerville.