Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is flawed because it is based on unwarranted assumptions regarding paleo diets. If the assumptions are not true then the main conclusion is rendered invalid .

The argument claims that paleo diets are good for human as our bodies evolved to eat these types of food. However, the food ingested by a human is not the only reason for the evolution of body parts. Various factors like lifestyle and surroundings could be the reason for evolution. For example, thumbs evolved to suit the needs of mankind making them more functional . For the assumption to be correct, we need to prove that these foods were the only reason for evolution of body parts . Also, the body parts affected should be mentioned in the argument.

The argument fails to provide justification that the physiology of early hominids are the same as present human beings . Even if the paleo diet caused the body parts to evolve in early human beings and benefited them by making them immune to inflammatory diseases. There in no assurance that it will have the same effect on present day human beings as the physiology may differ.The argument has to mention that the physiology of humans has not changed over time for the assumption to be true.

Finally, the argument assumes that it is the cartilage from the bone soup that can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. This in turn causes people who consume bone broth to have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases. However, these health benefits can be caused by other factors . If bone broth causes such health benefits , then is has to be proved true by evidence based on research not anecdotes.

The argument is based on unwarranted assumptions of the paleo diet . Thus, it fails to make a convincing case that paleo diets are beneficial to present day humans.