Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's world a leader influences millions of people . Thus, making leaders characteristics an important matter. That said , the ability of being able to make a moral judgement is a more important characteristic than maintaining the respect of ones peers.

A leader not only leads millions of the people but also inspires and influences them to make right decisions . Thus, it is very important for a leader to be able to make sound moral decisions as the actions taken by a leader can have major long lasting consequences . For example, Mahatma Gandhi made a judgement to take the route of non-violence to free India from the British . Had he decided to do the opposite he would have inspired violence among millions of Indians , which would have led to a lot of bloodshed. Therefore , it is important to make moral judgment at the cost of maintaining respect amongst your peers.

Also , a leader who is able to make judgments that are not influenced by bias ,will end up making right decisions . Thus making him successful . This in turn will cause his peers to not only to respect him but also adopt his moral ways. Hilter as a leader adopted a lot of immoral principles for which he was deeply respected by his followers . This kind of bad influence led to the death of millions of Jew. Hence proving, moral judgement is more important the respect .

Although, a leader should not fully compromise his respect when making a moral judgment .

In conclusion , a leader should be able to make a sound judgments as his actions will influence a lot of people around him . Thus, the ability of making moral judgement is more important than maintain the respect amongst peers.