Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

their peers while maintaining respect. However, while this is an important trait, this doesn't make it solely more important than the ability to use sound judgment.

When commanding a group of peers, it's advantageous to refer to one's own moral judgment. While the opinions and morality of those peers can falter and be replaced depending on a particular set of people, a leader having a firm sense of their own morality can bolster their confidence in the decisions that they make. Regardless of the feelings of those being led, the reasoning behind decisions will be based on the leader's own moral compass.

The confidence in decision-making that accompanies sound moral judgment may also be sensed by those being led, leading to a gain in their respect. The motives persuading someone whose morality bends with the majority surrounding them may be considered untrustworthy, as their actions are based not on their own beliefs, but of others who they hope to lead. If seen this way by their peers, the very trait they hoped would gain respect might lead to a feeling of distrust instead.

This is not to say that the respect of a leader's peers is unnecessary, but that it holds a similar place in importance to a sound moral judgment. Even with an incredibly steadfast morality, a complete lack of respect from peers would likely render a potential leader incapable of commanding the necessary presence. To best carry out the role of leadership, both holding sound moral judgment and maintaining the respect of peers should be traits that are personified.