Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Now days , universities make it mandatory to study a variety of subjects which are not related to the courses a student has selected especially in the fields of business and science . Science and business students are required to take up courses in humanities which do no benefit their career.

Universities charge a copious amount of money , as tuition fees to students for studying courses of their choice. Making humanities courses as mandatory , will increase the tuition fee. Thus, increasing financial burden on students who take years to pay off their student loans. Also, students should be allowed to focus only on their courses of choice and should gain in depth knowledge of their subjects . This will help them in their future careers. Studying humanities subject will not be helpful to them in their future and will be a waste of time as they will never use the knowledge from these subjects . For example studying history of the civil war will not benefit a student studying nuclear physics. Also studying geography will not be useful to someone who decides to become an investment banker .

However , if students are undecided about what fields to major in , taking up courses in humanities will be helpful. It will give them more insight in the humanities field . Students may even change their majors to humanities if they like the mandatory subjects .

In conclusion , universities should not make it mandatory to take up courses in humanities since it won't benefit the future of students studying business and science . It will only add to their tuition fees and make them put in extra effort towards the humanities subjects . This effort can be diverted towards gaining in-depth knowledge of their majors.