Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Subjects studied during college play an integral path in our careers . Since the kind of subjects you select can define your success in the future . It should be the responsibility of the student to select these subjects Educational institutes should not be held responsible for students selecting subjects in which they are less likely to succeed

Today, colleges offer hundreds of subject to students which weren’t available in recent years. Some of these subjects are relatively new and have become popular in the recent past due to introduction of new technology and global trends. This makes it impossible for the college to predict which courses or subjects have better opportunities that the rest . One such example, is social media and marketing which has become popular due to social media platforms like twitter instagram etc.

Secondly, large number of students attend universities. While universities do have career counsellors, it is not possible to counsel each and every student and help them pick the right path . Also a college should not stop a student from pursuing their interest even if they are not likely to succeed. If the student is passionate and hard working he will be able to succeed despite what other the people think .

However, if a student is confused and wishes to seek guidance from the college. It will be the colleges responsibility to help him select a path which he is likely to succeed in .

In conclusion , colleges should not be held responsible for students selecting subjects which they are less likely to succeed in as it impossible to keep track of all subjects and the career opportunities they lead to . Also it very difficult to counsel every student and help them pick the right path. As some may not like to be forced in to doing a subject they are not passionate about but are likely to succeed in.