For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical of our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level

In the part of article above, The conclusion was made to discontinue emphasis on Latino and world music and to restore the time devoted to traditional folk music. The conclusion was reached on basis of complains from many long-term supporters of radio station and local newspaper editorial on the shift of the programming. However, before this conclusion can be evaluated three specific evidences are required.

First of all, There should be the evidence that the long-term supporters complaining about the issue represent the majority of the total radio listeners. In other words, Has proper survey been done to identify the percentage of people having the similar concern. There is possibility the people complaining are just some small group of people expressing their personal opinion. However, this is possible that the people mainly complaining are matured audiences who are less familiar with Latino and world music. If either of these case is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is severely weakened.

Secondly, There should be evidence that the editorial mentioning about the shift in program too has the similar concern about the program aired. In other words, Do they mention that the shift in the programs has caused dissatisfaction to them. There is possibility that they are praising the step as the modern music like Latino and world music could drastically increase audience of the radio station. If these cases are true, the above argument doesn’t hold water.

Finally, There should be proper evidence that mentions American folk music only as an American form of music. In other words, does American folk music represents the entire American music. There is possibility that they could be demanding other different music then all these three. Further more, It is possible different people have their own favorite American music type.

In the conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to too many false assumptions. If the author is able to claim the above mentioned evidence as true and provide other further evidence then this it is possible discontinuing emphasis on Latino and world music and restoring the time devoted to folk music could actually increase the audience of the radio station.