A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented here is that since the chemicals used in the food were approved, the illness caused to animals was not because of the pet comapny's food and hence, they should not devote further resources to the investigation. This conclusion based on the given premises is completely flawed and sample test done on the recalled food seems to be narrow scoped which ignores many other factors that may have caused the mentioned illness. Furthermore, it portrays the lack of market insensitivity of the company.

Firstly, the company has just recalled their one batch of product which caused the epidemic. No where did they point out that such results were not found in the previous batches. This fact directly shows that they ignored the extraneous factors to the pet food. It may would have happened that the pets took contaminated water with pet food which was only consumed with current batch of products. And as the company won't intigate this further, they will never be able to educate the owners of the pets that it was never their fault.

Secondly, since the chemicals used in the food were approved, it doesn't mean that that the mixture of such a thing will be consumable. We know that chemicals in different proportions can cause different reactions and a layman is never aware of it. Also, the company totally ignores the user-end ramifications of such a consequence. Since they won't do further investigations. Their main focus will be on the internal factors rather than the external factors responsible for their loss.

Lastly, the company never checked with the user that, did the right animal consume this food. Was the pet food being sold was meant for them? It may have happened that the food was consumed by animals who were allergic to the chemicals used in the food item. This means it was solely user negligience that caused such a situation. The comapny seems to be alien to such reasons.

Now to improve this, the company can take the following steps. They should create awareness camps for the owners of the pets and educate them about the consumption of their product. They should make it a point that the user reads the instructions properly before buying their product for the right animal. They should hold a further investigation with an animal NGO to check all the factors for the illness and make sure that all categories of factors are taken into account. That should give them a clearer picture and make the public aware of the real reason of illness of the animals was not the company's product.

In the end though such an investigation will help the company's fortune, in current scenario it is seldom going to happen. The company should shun away this irresponsible and ignorant attitude. The conclusion is not only weak, it is based on an incomplete data.