The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The conclusion based on the study in Oceania University is totally flawed in many accounts. It not only shows the bias in choosing the subjects for the study but also a result with a weak base for luring new professors to the university. Furthermore it ignores the intrinsic reasons for the professors to leave the university as well as focuses only on singular point to enhance their faculty strength deficiencies.

Firstly, the attention goes straight to the subjects under this particular study. It showed that when professors are offered free-tuition for their own college-aged children at the university, they tend to stay back. This means majority of the professors who participated in this study were on experienced side and had college-aged children. Naturally when they were offered free-tuition policy, they decided to stay back and thus it resulted in an increment in retention. Hence, this study completely ignores the younger population of the professors in the university who, in most cases, won't be having children of this age and hence won't benefit from the policy. This makes the result of the study biased and flawed.

Secondly, a university with its experienced faculty, is also known for its young and dynamic professors who are eager to make contributions in teaching and research. The study done here shows that the university was facing a lot of professors leaving it for joining elsewhere. It also ignore the fact that there are other reasons for professors to leave the university such as work environment, salary, quality of resources for research, etc. Hence the conclusion drawn form this study will not help the university very largely and is a weak hypothesis.

Finally, the study has not given the clear cut points on which the observation happened. They have not mentioned the age group, the opinions of the professors, the time period of the study and ratio of gender. It also seems to target only one point of the problem rather than looking at other points in the system, which makes it incredulous.

Now in order to improve the retention rate, for which the study was conducted, the university should hold a meeting with the current faculties and listen to their problems. They should make a core committee compromising of the management as well as representatives from the professors and propose viable resolutions to the depleting retention rate. They can propose enhanced salary system, improving lab conditions, providing more flexibility in the decisions regarding classes to be taken by the professors,etc.

In the end, such improvements will help the universities in their retention rate, but the current result of the study and the study itself isn't a good place to start with. it is completely flawed and neglects a major portion of the professor population and their problems.