A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement presented by above is flawed in many different aspects and lacks the support for the claims. The claims by the company are based on simple analysis about the sample and the ingredients of the pet food which are not sufficient enough to substantiate their assertion.

Firstly, the recalled food is humongous in quantity and thus the selection of "few" sample will not suffice the current acquisition. The company claims to have tested few samples from the recalled food with present chemicals in the food. The issue about sampling error is not addressed. There is a high probability of error in some batch of the food production and those might be kept out of the sample for testing. The assertions are based on insufficient data about how the sampling was done, what number of samples were tested and what methods were advocated for the said tests.

Secondly, the most dubious fact present in their statement is the test itself. The company claims to have chemical ingredients which are approved for pet food but does not mentions the quantity and ratios of the chemicals. The probability of augmented amount of some chemical and decreased amount of other many be the reason for the signs of illness in pets. As the chemicals are approved for pet food, the presence of it in the food is most obvious. They would rather need to test the proportions of each to jump to conclusion. Another schism in this claim is the presence of chemicals as singular but they fail to address the negative outcomes of mixing different chemical in one product itself. For example, milk and lemon juice, both individually are very salubrious items for humans, but if combined, not only the advantages of each are lost but it involves consequences if consumed. Similarly, the case of inclusion of such chemicals which may react with each other and produce a constituent which is deleterious for the species also demands punctilious investigation.

Hence, it can be inferred that the argument is based on doubtful claims which needs further explanations to decide on the quality of the pet food. The sole reason of inclusion of approved chemicals is not sufficient enough to circumvent the need for further investigation. The company should analyze their food fastidiously to prevent themselves for any future such incidents. Answer to the few questions above and addressing to other such intricacies would determine the lucidity of the picture.