"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day. This will significantly reduce the number of summertime accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The neighboring island of Torseau actually saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents last year when Thoreau's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. To help reduce moped accidents, therefore, we should also enforce these limitations during the summer months."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the number of the rental moped on the Island should be diminished during summer vacation in order to decline summertime accidents. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is the fact that the council of the Island should reduce the number of moped and bicycles from 50 per day to 30. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether decrease the number of the moped to 30 per day could contribute greatly to the decline of accidents. One point that should be considered is that the author does not mention clearly the number of accidents involving moped and bicycles during summertime. What if the number of accidents remains constant after reduction? Indeed, there is no statistic or information to show that to the extent moped play a role in an accident. It is also important to say that maybe the Island gain its budget from taxes imposed on the moped, so, by reducing the number of the moped, the Island may face a huge problem.

The author also points out that this limitation will reduce the number of accidents dramatically involving moped and pedestrians. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if mopeds are the major cause of accidents. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author just introduced moped as a main source of accidents. In fact, there is a possibility that pedestrians also play a crucial role in accidents owing to the fact that the Island is overcrowded during summertime. Alongside that, creating a nice route for moped might be the best decision in order to decrease the number of accidents involving pedestrians and moped.

Putting the two assumptions above aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author the Neighboring Island enforce such restrictions and the number of accidents reduced by 50 percent. Nevertheless, the rationale behind the premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if the population in neighboring Island is the same as Balmer Island during summer. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author does not show any information about the number of population in Second Island. Maybe a few people visit this Island during summertime. So, in this case, we will not witness a great number of accidents and it is crystal clear that the number of accidents goes down significantly.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.