"The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals allowed at each of the island's six moped and bicycle rental companies from 5

The author of this statement asserts that limiting the number of moped from 50 per day to 30 per day in summer would reduce the increasing moped accident in summer. The author think this would surely work out the problem because neighboring island have adopted the same solution last year and was able to decrease number of moped accident. But, the reason provide by author is not convincing and have superficial analysis.

Firstly, the author did not present the clear scenario of the accident. He has just told present the number of accident involving moped and pedestrian is increasing. But he has not clearly shown that the accident is because of the number of moped in the street. It might be the case that the pedestrian of balmer island are not careful enough. So, the authorize person should concern about the maintenance of rules and regulation for both moped and pedestrians. It would surely reduce the accident if pedestrians/moped did not interfere each other.

Secondly, author could not come to conclusion with reference to Torseu island. The both island would not have same geographical structures and number of population. Torseu island might have adopted different solution for this problem at first such as proper rules and regulation for both pedestrian/moped but it would not have worked out because of their small road width. Thus, at end they have left with only option to limit the moped and it worked out because main reason of accident was small road width. However, this cannot be the reason of accident in the balmer island.

Thirdly, summer months are very significant months for people of balmer island and island's economy as must of tourist visit in these months. So, limiting the moped would be hectic for tourists to visit island which leads to decrement of tourists on island each year. Consequently, it will directly or indirectly harm the economic status of the island and limiting moped in island would turn out to be more expensive solution for accidents than maintaining rules and regulation for pedestrian and moped.

Thus, author should analyze every aspects of the issue and then only come to the conclusion. Maintaining rules and regulation for both moped and pedestrian would mitigate this issue but if this solution would not able to reduce accident then he can think about the solution which have worked out for neighboring island.