"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Leaders are the main person in any field be it whether in government, industry, or other fields who leads their related institutions towards development for the welfare of society and nations. Leadership should be cooperative but at same time they should be competitive on certain situation. So, I agree with author of this statement to some extend that society should be instilling cooperative sense in young people for leadership but they should also have competitive feel in positive way.

Firstly, young people are like raw brick they will learn and catch what they are taught in this stage. Therefore, if society praise cooperative behavior in young people then they would be cooperative in any field they step into. They would be have friendly and innocuous nature to his both coworker and opponent. For instance, if child since his childhood is praise to be cooperative then he would be friendly and co-operative with his teachers, parents and his classmate/ friends. Later on when he is select to be leader in any field then we will have placid and convivial relation with his coworker and partner which proves him to be good leader and public/organization wants him as leader.

Secondly, if person is cooperative since his young age he would not be involving in the activities such as brawling, corruption and activities which are immoral to the society and nations. However, he try to stay away from such activities and even try to solve such issue if it is in hand. For example, if a boy have only competitive feelings in whatever he do. He just want to win in whatever he step into he did not care about the path he carry to be winner or to be at top then such person is so self-center and did not think about welfare of society. This will harm every people who are depend on such institution directly or indirectly.

Although cooperative sense is beneficial, to be leader cooperative sense single cannot be enough. He also need to have competitive feeling to some extent. We face many situations in our life in which point we have to have competitive sense otherwise we would be backward and lack our confident in anything we pursue. If leader have cooperative and competitive feelings in positive way then he would be jealous of this good competitor and try to be better than them while ensuring welfare of his institutions and people related to them. So, its better to have certain degree of competitive sense than not be have them at all.

All in all, society should praise its young people to be cooperative but they should also let them have competitive sense in what they to certain degree with development and welfare for nations and society in their mind.