"At present, Mason City residents seldom use the nearby Mason River for any kind of recreational activity, even though surveys of the region's residents consistently rank water sports (swimming, fishing, and boating) as a favorite form of recreation. Since there have been complaints about the quality of the water in the river, residents must be avoiding the river because they think that it is not clean enough. But that situation is about to change: the agency responsible for rivers in our region has announced plans to clean up Mason River. Therefore, recreational use of the river is likely to increase, so the Mason City council will need to increase its budget for improvements to the publicly owned lands along the Mason River."

The argument which is stated above is based on the unwarranted assumptions which when taken as a whole, holds the argument fallacious. The city government is of the view that to increase the interest of people towards the riverside recreational activities an ample amount of money should be devoted to the betterment of the riverside. As a result, more people will be able to play their favorite water sports without ado. However this claim is based on some false assumptions.

Firstly, the surveys are not the prevalent ways to know the right consensus of the people. Survey reports that the Mason city residents rank water sports among their favorite but it is not at all mentioned that which group of people where the part of the survey, what was the sample size etc. It might be possible that the survey was close-ended and consists of only the limited riverside activities as the options. Such survey will definitely engender the biased results. Only if it was mentioned that the entire population was the part of the survey or that the open ended questions were asked then it could be much better to determine the fondness of the residients towards the sports.

Secondly, It is said that the state has it's plans to devote it's budget towards improving the river water's quality and smell with a view that the river water sports will increase but this is just an overstated assumption held by the government. It might be possible that people don't have much interest in playing the riverside sports across the nearby river. They might find it more zealous to travel far to some other riverside and play there so that it could involve a long drive too. It can be also be inferred from the line where it is said that Mason river flowing through the city is rarely used for such pursuits even if it's maintenance is ensured.

Also, the complaints which the government is receiving regarding the quality of river water and the river's smell will surely be alleviated by devoting the budget towards its clean up. But how we can give this surety that the people who are making the complaints are the ones who want to use that river for recreational activities. It's possible that they may go for a stroll or their homes are close to that river hence the malodorous surrounds annoys them. But this not at all concludes that they are the ones who are fond of riverside recreational activities. Instead, the government should first ensure that those who are making the complaints should also report the way in which they will use that river.

Thus unless all these assumptions are not taken into concern they argument will surely fall apart. And the government's decision to devote money out of their yearly budget to riverside recreational activities would not be of mere use and might just be the waste of money in that regard.