The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducation, the president argues that coeducation would lead to a significant increase in applications and enrollment. However, the director of the alumnae association opposes the plan. Arguing that all-female education is essential to the very identity of the college, the director cites annual surveys of incoming students in which these students say that the school's all-female status was the primary reason they selected Grove. The director also points to a survey of Grove alumnae in which a majority of respondents strongly favored keeping the college all female.

The president and administrative staff of Grove College suggests that the college should remain all-female and it should not adopt co-education. This assertion has been made to maintain the financial funding from alumni, based on a survey conducted among students and alumni. However, before reaching any such conclusion, below three questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the survey conducted among faculty members shows that they are in favor of coeducation. In their perspective, it will increase enrollment. Although, do we have data of approximately what percentage of enrollment will increase if the college education system is changed to coeducation along with a juxtaposed comparison of current enrollment and expected enrollment after the change? If not, then a study needs to be conducted to check if this argument holds water. This comparison will lead to a lucid view in determining whether the expected increment in enrollment due to the change in century-old tradition of all female education will lead to any significant contribution in college's finances. Because, if that is not the case, and the financial gains are negligible, then there will be no benefit by admitting men.

Further, are results obtained from the survey conducted among students and alumnae in sync with the students who are willing to enroll once the college opt for co-education? This comparison is essential before making the decision, because, if the students who are willing to enroll in the future due to coeducation is higher, then it will be beneficial for the college. As the current numbers of already enrolled students may be on the lower side leading to weak finances. For example, if there are 1400 new men admitted after the college's structure is changed to co-education, whereas, only 800 students left the college or opted for other college because their priority was to study in an all women structure. In such a situation, Grove college will still have 600 more admissions than the previous year. Hence, results of this survey on students willing to enroll might significantly weaken the administrative staff's argument.

Lastly, is percentage contribution of the current financial aid by alumnae of Grove College is a huge amount? This analysis will impact the decision whether the survey conducted amongst the alumnae should be given as much weightage as it is currently given, or not. This data of alumnae's contribution to the college financially, needs to be compared with the expected increase in financial aid, by expected ballooned enrollments after adopting coeducation. If the contribution made by alumnae is lower as compared to the financial gain colleges receive after implementing coeducation, then it will be a clear win-win situation and the survey conducted among alumnae can be disregarded. For instance, if the alumnae contribution towards the college's funds is only 10 percent of the total, and rest of the funding comes from either tuition fees or financial aid provided by the government, then their is no point in giving so much weightage to survey conducted among alumnae.

Although the survey conducted by the administrative staff seems to be contributing to the argument. But, before reaching to a conclusion, all the above questions need to be answered and data should be presented (preferably in the form of systematic study). After that, we can reach a rigid decision, otherwise it can negatively impact college's finances.