PROMPT: The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal. "A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring." Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument recommends that there is a direct link between the birth order of an individual's level of stimulation. The argument is flawed as it is based on many unwarranted assumption. Primarily the argument's basis for the aforementioned conclusion is a scientific study on the monkeys. However, this conclusion is not justified as there is no firm grounding that observations of this study are applicable to humans as well. The argument also have causal flaw and unjustified comparison.

Firstly, the argument assumes that the level of stimulation is only dependent on the harmone cortisol. This might not be true as there is no evidence provided by the argument to support this assumption. Level of stimulation might be dependent on some other harmones. All the bodily processes are quite convoluted, hence giving due credit for stimulation to cortisol exclusively is not justifiable. The argument would have been stronger if it had given sufficient evidence to corroborate a link between cortisol production in the body and stimulation observed.

Secondaly, even if we assume that cortisol is the only cause of stimulation the argument leaves many other questions unanswered. It assumes that the observations made in monkies can be directly applied to humans. Which is generalising without sufficient information. The argument does not provide any similarity between bodily functions of human and the breed of monkies on which the scientific study was conducted to support the applicabily of the research to humans. If the argument had provided scientific or theoretical evidence to corroborate the similarities in stimulation mechanism in monkies and humans we would have been in the better position to evaluate this argument.

Finally, the argument also makes unjustified comparison between various scenarios of stimulation. The situations 'encounter with an unfamiliar monkey' for monkies and 'return of a parent after an absence' for humans is compared without any proof to warrant this comparison. Furthermore, response generation system of both humans and monkies works differently and in a complex manner. Thus, to make a convincing case the argument need to give information about how these two situations produce similar stimulation in these two species.

Therefore, on the bases of the argument given above we can conclude that the argument does not provide any evidence for the underlying assumptions of the study on monkies being applicable to humans. Also, there is no proof to provide the direct link and similarities between the various scenerios mentioned in the argument. Thus, the argument in the absence of data to support the assumtions is not based on a firm grounding and fails to be convincing.