Prompt: “The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants. ‘Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

The memo in which manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants wants to increase profits by extending the idea of replacing butter by margarine in his all restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well. The assumption his made is illogical and baseless. He did not do more research about the idea he taken. There are some fallacies.

Firstly, the survey he did that customers have complained , indicating that an average 98 people out of 100 are happy with change, this assumption underlies by the claim that they may just like to happy because there are no more restaurants than Happy Pancake house that they bought some butter or margarine. For example, if there, someone open a new restaurant where butter or margarine is available, then may some customer go to the new shop who pretends to be happy to the Pancake House.

Additionally, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead if they know about the fact that they are different, that yet they don’t understand the taste of it, then the customers never go to the Pancake House and the restaurant must go to lose the revenue.

Furthermore, without research of people in the northeast: what they want from restaurant either butter or margarine, the assumption underlies the claim that their profits will dramatically increase. As the people of northeast are different from the southeast in the taste of migraine.

In the conclusion, the business manager must do further research in the people and the place of southeast and northeast for make a profit dramatically. He may be a good businessman, if he do the survey in the right way, and he give the knowledge to customers of butter and margarine, whether they want a butter or margarine and did as what customers want.