Prompt: "The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. 'Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.' Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

it is given that a late night news program has reduced thier time on weather and local news allocating more time to national news. however most of the complaints they have received during that time were regrading the coverage of weather and local news and the local business that used to advertise during that time have canceled their advertising contracts. Based on this, they have decided to restore the time allocated to weather and local news to its former level with the intention of attracting more viewers to the program and to avoid losing revenue from advertising. however, this argument has not provided proper evidences to justify their decision which creates an uncertainity in achieving their goals with the decision they took to achieve it.

Firstly, it is important to know how many complaints were made against the coverage of weather and local news and we have not been provided with the data to the number of complaints received ealier where they had allocated the former amount of time. I think it is logically to compare the level of complaints during those periods as that provides the proper understanding on the real situation. sometimes, they had taken this decision earlier because they had complaints that they don't devote the needed time for national news. Statistical data and a proper survey should be done to identify the roots related to this.

Then, we have not been informed about the number of viewers they got attracted by increasing time on national news. national news is related and paid attention by many, people of the whole nation whie local news is more specific for that locality. So, without any understanding on the change that happened with the decision that they took during the last year, we can't make sure that this new decision will increase the number of viewers attracted. sometimes there will be a situation many viewers will switch their TV channel because of the new decision will dissatisfy the new viewers they attracted with the previous decision last year.

Moreover, considering the advertising revenue, we are not aware of the increase or the decrease of total revenue from advertising in terms of a numerical value to arrive to a financially sounding decision. they might have increased their revenue by advertising national level business sector where there is more competition and more revenue can be collected as those businesses are more keen on marketing aspects as they are even multinational companies which are in an economically stable value with the economies of scale. sometimes the revenue from local businesses will not be significant compared to the revenue from national level businesses.Then this will not contribute to an increase of the revenue but for a huge decrease in revenue.

Thus, the decision they took without providing evidences to the above mentioned conditions is under suspicion as this involves certain dubious assumptions where they don't provide information to support their assumptions and claims.