The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

In the memo from the advertising director of the stated movie production company , it is given that during the past year fewer people attended to their movies than in any other year eventhough the positive reviews from the reviewers of specific movies actually increased. this made them to hold the fact that contents of these reviews are not reaching the prospective viewers and they propose to allocate a great share of its next year budget for advertising. In my opininion, to analyse the following argument, the following questions should be answered to clear the uncertainities and unsound assumptions included to provide the given recommendation.

First, have they conducted a proper market survey?. it is important to know the validity of evidences that they present. is it from a careful experiment that they say the number of attendees reduced last year? and is that a market trend? is it common for all the movie production companies?. some people may be moving away from watching movies as they might have different other commitments with the economic downfall. they may have spent money only on the basic needs. so it is important to have a broader idea of the economic situation of the country and the customer behaviour for similar products of different other producers, befor arriving to the recommendation. if something like an economic downturn has arised this observation, too much money on advertising may not attract prospective viewers because they have some serious issues to be solved before concentrating on entertainment which will not be considered as a major need for them to survive. The answers to this question will provide facts to accept or reject the validity of assumptions made like the economy is very stable and customer behaviours are also stable.

Second, how can they decide that public's lack of awareness is the only cause to this problem and positive reviewes are not reaching the prospective reviewers?. There can be a situation where people get to know about the positive reviews but they are now attracted by some other rival companies where they produce movies for different interests of people. may be this production company doesn't consider on introducing novelty like 3D and 4D impact where the young generation get attracted. how can they make sure that the people's interests are not changing if they are continuing the production with the conventional methodologies?. movie industry is a moving field where novel concepts should be added to make their impact worthy. so, sometimes the company should have to rethink about their procedures and methodologies employed to create quality products and then the positive reviews on those novel, unconventional factors may drive people to the products lauched by this company. Thus the answers to this question provides a better overview on how several other factors affect for the marketing sector of movie production industry.

In conclusion, the argument made has been based on unreasonable and unwarranted assumptions and unaswered qusetions, so it is vital to analyse those questions to solve the doubts associated so that a proper recommendation can be provided rather than concentrating on allocating money on advertising but for coming up with a proper business plan to survive for a longer time in the industry.