The purpose of higher education is to prepare students for the future, but classen students are at a serious disadvantage in the competition for post-college employment due to the university's burdensome breadth requirements. classen's job placement rate

The argument made by the author states that the Classen students are at a serious disadvantage in competition for post-college employment, stating that the university's burdensome breadth requirements are the cause of it. While it may be easy to accept this statement at first based on the information provided, the argument is flawed and to support such a claim, the author would need to take a more in depth approach.

Firstly, the author makes a comparison to many of the other top ranked schools. There are many facts that are missing in this claim and thus would be hard to justify this as true. There is no data of what courses are taken by the students in the top ranked schools. Are the courses very specific and advanced courses in their chosen field of study? Or do they include subjects that are considered breadth modules as well? The author also states that 15 percent of the time is spend taking such courses, it would be good to compare apple to apple and define the same percentage at the other top ranked schools. There is a chance that the percent at the other schools could be the same or perhaps higher and would void the author's claim. Hence, it is pertinent to include this type of data to fully evaluate this comparison.

Another possibility is that the schools' ranking could impact the hiring ability of the students from these schools. The author does not state if Classen is among the top-ranked school but instead uses the top-ranking schools as a comparison. There is a probability that Classen in fact may be one of the lower ranking schools, hence, this could impact the placement rate if employers prefer graduates from the top ranked schools.

Lastly, the type of breadth courses could be evaluated and compared against the other schools in the region. Many of these courses include soft skill training, much needed for professionals going out to work. Skills such as leadership, problem solving and teamwork often are the fundamentals of any industry. The author could further enhance the claim by providing information on such courses and whether they bring value to the student as well as the future employer. If a survey of such was performed to evaluate these responses from both the student and the employer, then the results could justify if such courses were burdensome and asses if they were value-adding to these students as well.

In summary, the author makes a strong claim that is not justified due to a large amount of missing data and information. If additional surveys were carried out and fair comparisons were made, the claim that taking additional breadth courses limit the employment ability could possibly be supported.