Statistics gathered over the past three decades show that the death rate is higher among those who do not have jobs than among those with regular employment. Unemployment, just like heart disease and cancer, is a significant health issue. While many healt

The argument makes several bold claims linking an increased death rate among those whom are unemployed. It further characterizes unemployment as if it were a disease, comparing it to heart disease and cancer. The author further makes some contradictions which spreads through the passage like it is a disease.

The author attempts to provide references to statistics, however, there is no basis on what these statistics are. What population was included in the sample pool? What was the average age? Were the count for the higher death rate based on people that were already terminally sick? There are many factors to take into considerations for this justification. Furthermore, the author does not state the death rate of those who are employed. The definition of "higher" is not provided as well, it may be possible that higher could be 500 more deaths in a population of 10 million people for example, which does not significantly define a statistic per say. Therefore, it makes the statement refutable and inconsistent.

The author states that additional funding is required for medical research and public health care however if doing so it would lead to an increase in unemployment. This is a severe contradiction as more medical research and public health care not only improves the health facilities available but also increase the number of jobs available. This inevitably leads to an decrease in unemployment rather than an increase. Better public health care and improved access to those that are unemployed would lead to a lower death rate when those who are not able to afford the necessary treatment are still able to receive the treatment though public schemes and government aid.

For many, employment itself could lead to a variety of problems including stress, hypertension and anxiety. Increased conflicts on the job, occupational hazards increase the number of problems. Furthermore, the industry-induced competition and the need to excel could also take a toll on many who are "burnt out". All of these examples could lead to an increase in health related issues and therefore an increase in the death rate.

In conclusion, the death rate may be higher in those who are unemployed. However, more support should be given to those who are such as courses to improve their skills and train for new employment. Healthy citizens should be considered a priority first before a healthy economy as without its people, how would a country, government or economy thrive.