"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies ac

The advertising director has made a brief stand based on some information on hand. However, the statements made in the memo lack important evidence necessary for justifying these claims.

Firstly, the director should evaluate further regarding the decrease in the attendence of the super screen produced movies. Could it be that there is an increase in competition and there are more companies producing more films this year? There could also be an increasing trend to rent movies on DVD or video-on-demand resulting in more viewers at home rather than attending a movie. Another possibility could be that the price to watch a super screen movie has gone up and compared to the other movies and other options, attending the super screen movie is less attractive.

Secondly, more information is required regarding the positive reviews and the general population of responders. What did the positive reviews commend about these movies? The claim that the problem lies not with the quality of the movie is a severe assumption and basing this statement on the positive reviews is not credible without knowing the exact content of the reviews. Did these reviews remark that these movies are of good quality? Perhaps the reviews could haave commented on the good directing skills or art design and may not always reflect on the movie or company as a whole.

Lastly, the statement made by the advertising director regarding the public's lack of awareness is a unsupported claim as there are no facts to try to justify. It is based on the correlation that lesser attendance is due to lesser awareness without considering any other possible reasons such as those mentioned earlier. To effectively improve the advertising strategy, the director should take into account a few factors before making such a bold decision to change the budget. For instance, were any changes to the type of advertising this year leading to a decrease in public awareness as the director claims. Is the company's marketing strategy to include public reviews and opionions as well? Or are these reviews already available online or on certain forums made public to all potential viewers?

The director would need to conduct a more thorough review of the audience and why the sudden decrease in attendence this year. Perhaps working together with the marketing department could aid in this. With the additional information, a more concise and tailored approach could be used when allocating budget next year. It would determine whether pumping additional budget into advertisement would achieve the goal of increasing attendence rates or perhaps allocating more budget is required to improve the quality of the films.