The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competetion

"No man is an island", John Donne once said and this metophor can be used and applied to a society as well. Leaders learn from the young impressionable age and society should advocate a sense of cooperation, this in itself is a sort of teamwork where by the society comes together to develop their young people.

For young people, whom are at their prime age where they are the most influenced at that age. A sense of coorperation is a basic requirement. From young, children are placed together in schools and from such an early age, the fundamentals of teamwork and working together develop. This further builds through the school life, where students are required to work in groups for certain projects. Even extra curricular activities such as sports, example football, where by teammates need to work together to achieve a set common goal. Like every football team, there will be a captain, who requires a great sense of teamawork to be able to lead his team to victory.

The basis of teamwork and cooperation stems good team players in the work force, where teams thrive on good communication between peers, support between co-workers and generally a good culture developed for open communication and trust. This such environment can only further enhance any industry's business. Leaving space and oppourtunity for leaders to take the business to the next level, relying on the the advantages of having a good team and plenty of cooperation.

Of course, having competition is unavoidable and a certain amount of healthy competition can be beneficial in the right situations. To elaborate, team players challenging each other to perform better in a sales team would ultimately cultivate a ambience to push each others limits and go out of the comfort zone. This sometimes is necessary to excel and really identify and harness one's true capabilities as a leader. Of course, young people may be strayed to unhealthy competition which leads to a unwanted and sometimes immoral behaviour. Especially when winning the competition leads to attaining some sort of reward or prize, young people are very influenced to push through all barriers, sometimes even unethical ones, to achieve what they want. This sort of complex does not lead to the right preparation for leadership especially for the young people at a naive age.

To sum it all up, healthy competition could be necessary for growth and development however the right balance of healthy competition and cooperation should be established. With more cooperation, the key benefits and advantages are clear and consistent with what is required for leadership in the various government or industries.