A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

At a very young age, children already express certain interests or even talents in various musical instruments, language or even subjects, just to name a few. These days, parents start introducing different forms of art for example, learning the alphabet through using a song which helps the child remember better. These examples of tailoring the approach to each child is different, hence why would we subject our student to the same national curriculum in school.

If there was the same set of subjects mandated for students, there would be a severe decrease in diversification of courses. For example, schools would need to follow a list of subjects to be taught and this may not always include subjects out of the status quo. Such as subjects like art or music, design, information technology (IT). For the students, not all may excel in the 'expected' subjects such as Mathematics, Science and English, they may have talents elsewhere in design and media for example. These talents would go unrecognized leading to students being demoralized due to their low performance in subjects that are not fit to their capabilities.

Students with low morale could have many consequences such as an increase in school dropouts, increase in unemployment rates and more children unable to enter college. Hence, the impact is huge when they do not have access to a more diverse range of courses.

Furthermore, the courses available in college are vast and varied and high school would usually prepare the students for these courses. If following a national curriculum defines the subjects as limited, the students would not have the adequate pre-requisites required to enter college. If they are able to gain admission to such "out-of-the-box" courses such as media, design and IT, students may find themselves struggling to keep up with the fast-pace curriculum in college.

With the increasing need for new ideas in the modern world across all industries, such as a new range of the Iphones being released each year. Even in the medical field where computers are being developed to be stand-by doctors or pharmacists available 24 hours a day for advise. The need for diversity has never been more prominent.

Unless the standardized national curriculum can provide a varied range of courses suited to their students' talents, interests and skills, the same curriculum would not benefit these students. To top it all off, the students would not be sufficently prepared for the rigourous and diverse curriculum in college. In conclusion, a nation should not require the same curriculum before college.