"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The argument makes a conclusion to restore time devoted to weather and local news and tries to provide the justification to support this claim. However, there are several flaws in the argument which need to be addressed and answered before the manager should make such a conclusion.

Firstly, it would be useful to understand why the news program changed their strategy to focus more time on national news initially. Perhaps, at that point of time, there was alot of news to be covered at the national level and not much of local updates. It could be that viewers may have complained in that there may not have been enough national news and too much local news and weather before this change. There could also be an earlier new program which already covers the local news and weather updates as well. To really evaluate and tailor the solution for this news program, a complete picture is needed to fully assess the situation before this change.

Secondly, as it seems that the viewers generally voice their complaints and are keen to make a change in what they view on their news program. It would be beneficial to tap into this resource to evaluate what exactly do they want to see on this program. What better way could there be to identify the needs of the consumer then going straight to the source. With this additional information, the author would then be able to justify whether the viewers really want more coverage on the weather and local news or would they want a mix of all three. The manager should not assume that the said complaints lead to reverting the program back to the original without understanding what the viewers want.

In terms of the local businesses and the decrease in the advertising contracts, this claim is in dire need of more supporting evidence before such a statement can be made. A simple poll conducted to assess why the local businesses pulled out of the late night advertising should be done. Perhaps, they find that they could reach a wider audience by advertising at a more prime show time such as in the evening. They could also be making informed choices on their advertisment time slots depending on their target audience. If the businessess are spending money to advertise during other timeslots, perhaps it is not considered a loss in revenue per say. If the television station require businessess to advertise during their late night new program to keep revenues up. It would be advantagous to identify businesses that have the most impact on the late night viewers and invite them to advertise during their late night news program instead.

With all this additional information, the news program would be able to make a decision that is beneficial for both themselves and their viewers. Instead of swithcing back to the time devoted to weather and local news, the program could be a mix of all three including the national news. If the program were to switch back to the former levels, it may lead to the cycle being repeated due to the fact that they do not understand their audience. With a more informed decision resulting in a viewer- tailored news program, the television station would be able to avoid making multiple changes to their news program.