We venerate loyalty – to our schools, employers, institutions, friends – as a virtue. Loyalty, however, can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one.

Loyalty is usually perceived as a positive attribution that one should have; loyalty to one's partner, being committed to a job, to name a few examples. However, more often there are situations where upholding loyalty may or may not always benefit one's self.

Firstly, on average, an individual would complete around 14 years of education, each time building a relationship with the school, its values and the experiences associated with the time spent there. For a young graduate, there could be a number of benefits if correctly utilized. They are for example, being part of the alumni and networking circles, keeping in touch with ex-teachers and classmates. Furthermore, if their children would like to go to the same school, most schools would offer priority to the children who's parents are alumni. However, this would come with a small price as well. Maintaining the network and alumni status takes up time and in many occasions financial resources as well. The consequences of such a loyalty may not always align with one's priorities in life. This would question if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages in terms of being loyal to your alma mater.

In terms of loyalty to your employer or your job. The benefits are clear at the start and part of the company's hiring incentives, such as long-service awards for the longer you stay or a higher pension waiting for you at the end of your career if you decide to stay till retirement. Of course, expectations would need to be managed and what would the exact outcome be of staying in a company for a longer period of time. With the millennial trends these days, younger employees hop from company to company every two to three years. Stating reasons mainly due to the companies not being able to provide the adequate development and training opportunities demanded by such individuals. Hence, loyalty would not lead to a variability in skills and exposure.

In a social setting, loyalty in friendship could be slightly more complex especially in younger, more easily influenced people. For example, certain friends may not always do the 'right' things and may use peer pressure to coerce one into taking certain narcotics or excessive drinking. In certain situations,it may even lead to physical violation. In this example, it is clear that it is not beneficial unless the individual has clear morals and judgement.

In summary, it is quite clear that loyalty is in majority of being a detrimental influence rather than a beneficial one. However, it would be unfair to exclude that there are some possibilities and in the right scenarios, where if the right choices are made, loyalty could be beneficial.