Que :

Over the past two years , the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarders has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store Owner believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboarders users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarders in central plaza. If skate boarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner of central plaza makes the recommendation for the city to prohibit skateboarding within the plaza to restore business that has been declining in the past two years. he argues that not only has business decreased, but there has been an increase in litter and vandalism as well. The argument, however, fails to take into account other factors that may be contributing to decreased business. it also makes the assumption that increased litter and vandalism are the skateboarders responsibility.

The store owner claims that there has been a decrease in business, yet an increase in skateboarding at the plaza, therefore business would return to its "previously high levels" with a ban on skateboarding. however, a decrease in business may be due to many other factors. central plaza may have a variety of stores that no longer are relevant for today's shoppers. With an increase in technology offering new and improved methods of viewing media, stores such as books shops, video rentals, and photo developing booths no longer are in as high a demand. businesses, such as these, are experiencing a decline in sales because of becoming outdated, not because of the presence of skateboarders outside the store front. By removing skateboarders from the plaza, these stores would not be able to expect a return of business.

The store owner also makes the assumption that a decline in business is not because of increase in local competition. central plaza may be in a town experiencing rapid commercial growth. perhaps a new plaza has been constructed down the road, or a new shopping mall has been built a short drive away. An increase in competition could be reason for a decrease in business. skateboarders in a plaza surely would not be a determining factor in choosing a store if that store is not matching a competitors prices or variety of goods. In this instance, removing skateboarders from the plaza would again not help to bring back business.

Lastly, the store owner assumes the skateboarders are the perpetrators of littering and vandalism. perhaps there is a lack of nighttime security making it easy for anyone to cause destruction to the plaza. perhaps there aren't an adequate number of trash receptacles available for easy trash disposal. it is possible the hired janitorial service is overwhelmed or undermotivated causing a build-up of litter. An increase in litter and vandalism cannot justly be blamed on the increase of skateboarders.

The store owner may be justified in his concerns of a decline in business, however he is mistaken in believing simply prohibiting skateboarding within the plaza would bring business back to high levels. He must address many of the variables as cause for a decline in business.