The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of movies galore makes the recommendation that his stores should reduce operating expenses in order to offset a recent decline in profits. Within the past month, one of his stores in downtown Marston reduced its operating costs by closing at 6pm rather than 9pm, as well as reduced stock to only movies released within the last 5 years. He makes the recommendation to implement these same changes for the other nine stores. The owner must address missing information in order to strengthen his recommendation.

The owner of the movie chain must first discuss how long this "recent decline" in profits has taken place. Perhaps the decline has only been for the last business quarter. It is possible that the last business quarter fell during warm summer months when people tend to be outside enjoying the weather, rather than spending time inside watching movies. People tend to take their vacations during the summer months and wouldn't be home to support their local movie rental store. However, if the recent decline in profits was over the course of the year, the owner would have a stronger argument that profits are indeed declining. He must first clarify how long profits have been declining before jumping to the conclusion that decreasing operating costs would be beneficial.

Secondly, the owner fails to discuss the hours of most business. He recommends closing stores earlier at 6pm rather than 9pm. This could become problematic if a majority of his business occurs between the hours of 5 and 8pm. Many people decide to stop and pick up a movie to watch on their way home from work which would be in the evening hours. The owner could be missing out on many profits by deciding to close earlier. In addition, every store is in a different location with different clientele. one store may make most profits during earlier hours, while other stores may attract evening business. He must first analyze when most profits are made for each individual store before deciding to shorten business hours for all ten of them.

Lastly, returning to differences in clientele for each individual store, the owner would be wise to analyze the demographic of each store's clients. One store may be in a location where many young adults live that prefer to see the latest releases. However, another store may be in a location with many families or senior citizens who may prefer the classics. By removing all stock of movies five years and older for a store who serves mostly clientele looking for classic movies would be detrimental to business. The owner must first address the makeup of his customers for each individual store before stripping his stock of older movies.

The owner of movies galore has been experiencing a decline in profits and recommends two major changes to lower operating expenses. He would benefit most by addressing some of the issues discussed above before making any rash changes.