The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

When attempting to understand contemporary culture, there are a multitude of aspects to analyze. Contemporary culture is comprised, but not limited to, modern day art, music, fashion, food, language, traditions and media. To look in only one place to understand today's culture would be limiting one's scope. By only analyzing the trends of a culture's youth, one would be missing out on many aspects of that culture.

As stated above, culture has many components that make it what it is. The youth of a culture may be exemplary of contemporary fashion and music, yet they lack in knowledge of that culture's traditions due to being young. For example, contemporary Western culture has a lifestyle of small families where two adults marry and bear children. These small family households are a huge part of what makes up western culture. Young people have not experienced these traditions of marriage or bearing children because they are not yet there in their lives. By only analyzing Western culture's youth, one would miss out on a significant lifestyle tradition because young people

By analyzing the youth of a culture, one is limited to very age-specific trends. If one were to only look to the youth of Western culture, they would believe our culture's food is a diet of Dorito's and Coca Cola. They would miss the whole aspect of Western culture that is dedicated to great cooking. Youths have not yet entered the part of their lives where healthy food and home cooked meals are important to them. This is a huge part of Western culture that would be missed by only analyzing the trends of youths.

Another aspect of culture that would be missed is language. By analyzing youths today, one may believe that Western culture communicates in codes, such as "LOL" or "ILY". Although these new slang terms are a part of Western language, they are not the language entirely. Young people are not yet appreciative of poetry or prose. Few have learned about what makes language beautiful. For an outside to only analyze the language of Western culture's youths, they are have a very skewed take on contemporary language.

To understand contemporary culture, one must analyze all age groups of a culture to get a well-rounded idea of that culture.