A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood Moreover the majority of

The author of the argument claims that setting a restaurant in Bay City that is specialized in seafood would be popular and profitable. Supporting his assertion, he or she points out that seafood consumption has increased significantly in the last five years in Bay City along with several other facts. However, before the claim can be properly evaluated, four questions need to be answered.

Firstly, will the families eat at the specialized seafood restaurant once it is established? The author of the argument unfairly assumes that they will have enough customers to make a profit on the basis of the mere fact that the majority of the Bay City families eat fewer homemade meals. However, it is possible that the residents of the city do not eat home-cooked meals because they eat at a restaurant somewhere near their workplace. And they will not necessarily go to a seafood restaurant if it is far from their workplace. If this is the case, then the author’s argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, will the restaurant to be set will provide healthy seafood? Here the author also assumes that the recommended restaurant will provide healthy seafood providing no proof. Lacking such evidence, it is possible that the restaurant will not be aware enough to serve healthy foods, which, according to the study provided by the author, the Bay City families desire. Thus, the legitimacy of the claim is sufficiently hampered.

Finally, will the specialized restaurant surely be profitable? Provided that seafood consumption has been increasing in the last five years, it is surprising that there is no specialized seafood restaurant yet. Maybe people have already tried profiting from this increasing demand and failed to do so, that led to the dissolution of the restaurant. Without showing any obstacles or reasons for not having such a restaurant yet, the author cannot assert anything firmly.

In sum, If the author is able to answer these questions in a compelling manner, then the viability of the claim can be properly assessed.