A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees that do not receive payment for the sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during the time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness related medication. The highest risk- occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

The argument states that employees with unpaid sick leave are more susceptible than work-related accident than paid sick leave. The author represented some evidence about the research and survey. But there is a discrepancy of overall statistical data and between unpaid and paid sick leave.

Firstly, the author claims that unpaid sick leave is 28% more susceptible than the paid sick leave in work-related accident. But, is the data estimated for the same level of the job? There is no evidence in the presented claim; moreover, the evidence has no unequivocal employee number, ratio and based on other related evidence that supports the claim. So, without clear statistical result, the claim is totally vague and ambiguous.

Secondly, the researcher claims that unpaid sick leave feel pressure for cut off of pay. But, the actual explanation has not supported this claim. For instance, in a company, there is a various level of an employee like a manager, assistant manager, blue-collar job holder and then a clerk and also temporarily job holder. The permanent employee of a company if got sick barley the company cut his or her wages. But, for temporary employee sometimes company cut pays. So, the claim of the author is weakening the hypothesis.

Again, the survey claims that there is a discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave in highest risk occupation when the accident happens. But, the researcher does not explain the job title. Such as, if the employee works in a construction side but works in a front desk what type of accident will occur there. So, the overall hypothesis is not clear, skeptical and lack of depth.

Finally, conclude that the author should provide more evidence to strengthen the claim otherwise the hypothesis will not validate.