Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Ideas, concepts and facts are the keys to studying and by using those basic students can easily progress their understanding. However, a plethora of people contents that facts are the main pinpoint of any theory and others disagree with the statement. Not surprisingly, the number of controversies over this issue is overwhelmed. Among this controversy, I personally believed that idea and concepts are essential for understanding facts. I feel this way for several reasons I will expound subsequent followings.

To commence with, idea and concept help a student to understand the fact better. That's why at the beginning of a topic always idea and concept are explained. This is because after understanding the concept student can easily get the overall idea and can easily get the fact. Moreover, the fact can easily forgettable if student memorizes it without understanding the idea. If they know the concept student will never forget the fact. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In high school, I was afraid of math because I did not understand the overall concept of the topic. This is because in math fact was always presented before the idea. Thus, it was sometimes difficult for me to understand the theory and also hard to memorize. When I realized that concept was presented later the fact then I started reading the concept first and then the theory. As a result, I got the idea of the fact and can easily understand the theory and after that I never afraid of math and it became my favourite subject.

Furthermore, a better understanding can lead people to discover a fact. For example, an earlier periodic table had many gaps between the two elements. After discovering many elements and their atomic mass, electron number scientist realized that this element can have different characteristics which can also reassemble each other. After arranging those elements they found that the missing element will discover in the future. with their prediction, some of the elements were discovered and many will discover in the future. Thus, with a better understanding can people can lead a new concept.

To recapitulate, I am on the opinion that ideas and concepts are more important than the fact because it gives an overall idea of a topic and also leads a new idea. Additionally, by a better understanding student can gain profound knowledge which they can remember

forever.