"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Although it is a fact that both first-born rhesus monkeys and first-born humans produce higher levels of cortisol which contributes to enhanced level of activity, explaining this phenomenon using the stimulating situation theory is not convincible. The author uses several assumptions to indicate that the cortisol level of a firstborn infant is determined by whether there is a stimulating situation, and his arguments lack contrasting examples. This crates lots of flaws in his arguments and makes his conclusion unreliable.

The author firstly assumes that only when the infants are under stimulation can they produce more cortisol, however he does not completely prove this assumption by claiming that the infants will not produce extra cortisol without being stimulated. If both of the conditions can lead to more cortisol produced, stimulating situation cannot be the cause of it. What the author should also clarify is that other than stimulation, no factor can influence the excretion of cortisol. Since the infants are raised in complex environments, many factors such as the temperature, the nourishment, the attention from parents, et cetera. We cannot assume these factors are completely irrelevant if the author does not exclude them in his argument. In fact, in the end of the argument the author informs us of first-time mother monkeys who had higher cortisol level. By doing this the author seems to stultify himself as this is not a stimulating situation.

By using a collective term “stimulating situation”, the author automatically assumes that all of the stimulations can lead to the same result. Actually the term itself is very vague as the author does not give any definition or classification for it. Thus it is not clear what stimulating situations are although the author does give two examples. Because of this, we cannot know if any stimulating situation applies to the author’s theory.