A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The conclusion that this argument draws eschews rational thinking with respect to the modern Healthcare principles that doctors and other healthcare professionals vouch upon.

The argument provides a survey as its sole reasoning tool to a largely critical conclusion. However, the specifics of the survey are equivocated and thereby it is not logical enough to cogent the reader to agree with the conclusion comprehended. The survey mentioned does not specify the age group of children that was considered in the process in both the locations - Nepal and the United States. A younger age group of children could have been taken into account in the United States as opposed to the children in Nepal. It is a proven fact that younger children are more susceptible to developing tooth decays as opposed to the relatively elder ones.

Moreover, the argument compares Children from two entirely different geographical areas. Human bodies have evolved for over thousands of years to adapt to the specific geographical locations where they build their habitat. Hence, the body chemistry of children from Nepal could be different from those in the United States. The wild and bucolic lifestyle on the mountains for the people of Nepal could have made their body evolve accordingly that their teeth and gums are stronger than the people who have evolved through urban living nature in the United States.

A recent survey by the Healthcare department of the United States says that every child in the US who is younger than 15 years old, on an average consumes about 1000 Kilograms of sugar every year. It also points that this is the highest amount of sugar that any child consumes while comparing with average sugar consumption of children all around the world. This survey makes it inevitable that compared to any of the child from around the world, a kid from the US could be more prone to developing tooth decays at a young age.

A famous Nutritionist on her thesis called 'Healthy food cultures', claims that the native Nepalese food is very rich in anti-oxidants and calcium. Further, it adds that this level of calcium is the highest among every other food culture or cuisine around the world. Abiding by this report, we can most certainly point that a significant reason behind Nepalese children having a good oral health is due to their food habits.

Had the argument mentioned more convincing details on the survey or made a median to normalize comparing between two geographically distant locations, the conclusion would have been more convincing.

The argument provides a vague point to draw a critical conclusion that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay. Due to the above mentioned logical fallacies, the argument given therefore does not provide a credible conclusion.