A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per nigh

The argument correlates the number of hours of sleep with the productivity of an individual. Though the argument is seemingly plausible at a cursory glance, a more detailed introspection shows that the argument is a victim to a number of ground shaking fallacies.

The argument is made simply based on evidence provided by the study, which states that if an individual sleeps for 6 hours, he is bound to be at his zenith. This calls into question the validity of the study. Was the sample set biased? On whom was this survey conducted? Did the sample set contain only the young population, who are untiring and complaisant , thanks to their vernal energy? The sample set may also contain a group of caffeine addicts, who are constantly tingling with nervous energy. Or did it sample people from a particular area, where people generally find six hours of sleep to be sufficient?

Further, the argument assumes that people are productive owing to their sleeping schedule. There is no proof which bolsters this argument. Had another survey been successful on asserting the lower productivity of people who did not sleep for six hours, the argument would have been far more plausible. A person may be productive due to numerous reasons. Unwavering family support, physical and mental wellbeing and a good diet may also boost the employee's performance. A good environment at the workplace, and a supportive boss and rewarding bonuses also play a very vital role in the success of the employee.

Building on the implications of the argument, one might realize that the company may lose a few stellar candidates, simply because they do not make it through the filter of 6 hours of sleep. Eventually, this might turn counter-productive for the company as they will lose their valuable assets. A few individuals may flourish with six hours of sleep, but few employees may not be able to adapt to this, and this may cause the sleep-deprived employees to be lethargic throughout the day. This will be deleterious to the company and may cause huge losses.

In a nutshell, it would not be prudent to correlate sleep hours with productivity based on the evidence given in the survey. The survey should be unbiased, and other factors must be given due weightage before rushing into such conclusions.