Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue brings into light a rather controversial issue of whether the educational institutes should discourage the students from pursuing a career field they are not inclined towards. The issue takes a compelling stand in the sense that it might bolster the individual development of people and hence I stand in resolute support to the given statement.

Imagine if Leonardo Da Vinci had been scratching his head over quantum physics, if Maddona was an investor at the Wall Street and if Elon Musk was a singer at the Opera House. That seems like a very incongruous mix, doesn't it? The pith of this very problem is tackled by the issue statement. Educational institutions can understand the inclination of the student, and nurture his talents accordingly. An NBA enthusiast may be encouraged to try out for the sports scholarship, and a budding scientist may be given a chance to work in the state laboratories.

Tackling unnecessary subjects in college which may be irrelevant to one's career, may cause a student to feel stressed out and tenuous. It not only asks for investments in time and energy but gouges out a fair amount of money from their pocket. Students may have to devote extra time just to complete their credits and end up spending more on the already staggeringly high tuition fees. Students often resort to taking new jobs to handle this monetary pressure, adding to their volcanic stress levels. A math student does not need to learn about the nuances of Napolean's tax policy, nor will a liberal arts student find a use for constructing algorithms in Java.

The probability of a student reaching his zenith is considerably increased by nurturing his talent from the very beginning. The student can begin their professional career much more quickly and starts contributing to society and the nation by turning into a valuable asset. As the student has a very biased training dedicated to his interests, opportunities come knocking on his door. Doubt on this whole argument can be cast be the fact of the existence of students who are unsure of their strengths and career paths. However, the doubt is overshadowed by the fact that only a few number of students exist who are unsure, and this issue can easily be solved by career counseling and sagacious guidance.

In a nutshell, it would be prudent to conclude that educational institutes do have a major role in shaping the future of the students, and given the freedom to dissuade the students from fields they are unlikely to succeed in, it will only strengthen the student's possibility to reach his zenith.