"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

The arguement suggests that a business will thrive better if the exceutives of the do not require more than six hours to sleep. However, this assumption cannot be generalised as there are a numbers of flaws in the assumption.

The number of exceutives that were used for the study might be a limited portion of the total number of exceutives in the firm. Also, only one firm was used and as such the findings cannot be concluded to be applicable to other firms that were not considered. Also, only the executives were used for the study, and a firm is made up of an hierarchy of workers, and most times the most important workers are not the executives but the subordinates. This means the growth in the firms might have been as a result of the inputs of other workers other than the excutives.

There are different factors reposible for how a worker functions, some of these factors are socio-economical, health related, psychological and many more. The length of the sleep time of a worker is just one factor out of thousands of other factors. It could be that the productivity of the executives are as a result of other factors and not the length of hours that they sleep, this factors might be responsible for thr higher profit margin in Mentian.

Furthermore, the survey only takes into consideration the sleep time per night. Sleep is not restricted to the night only, some people sleep during the day. Therefore, the survey should have included the sleep time of executives during the day as some excetives might be in the habit of taking naps during work time which might improved their productivity.

Although, a higher profit margin and faster growth in a company might suggest properity, this is not always true. Porsperity of a business cuts across different aspects of the business, some of which includes: good customer relation, good working environment for workers, endorsements and many other factors. Thus, just because the firm had a higher profit margin doesn't automatically mean it is propering and this cannot be generalised for other firms. Another flaw in the assumption is that, the firm that was used in the study was an advertising firm and as such cannot be used to understand the productivity of other firm that are not into advertisement.

In conclusion, the study should be carried out again in a more precise manner. All workers in the firm should be taking into consideration and surveyed thoruoghly. The study should also understand the trend pattern of other businesses that are prospering and adopt those patterns in other to attain optimum development in their firm.